Sunday, Jul 23rd

Last update:02:31:00 AM GMT

You are here: History History of India Jana Gana Mana - Indian National Anthem

Jana Gana Mana - Indian National Anthem

Jana Gana Mana is the national anthem of India. It is composed and scored by Nobel laureate poet Rabindranath Tagore. It was first sung at the Calcutta Session of the Indian National Congress on December 27, 1911 and was officially adopted by the Constituent Assembly as the Indian national anthem on January 24, 1950.


A formal rendition of the national anthem takes about fifty-two seconds. A shortened version consisting of the first and last lines (and taking about 20 seconds to play) is also staged occasionally.


The Indian National Anthem - 

JavaScript is disabled!
To display this content, you need a JavaScript capable browser.

Click here if you can't view it

 Jana gaṇa mana adhināyaka jaya he
Bhārata bhāgya vidhātā
Punjāba Sind Gujarāṭa Marāṭhā
Drāviḍa Utkala Banga
Vindhya Himāchala Yamunā Gangā
Ucchala jaladhi taranga
Tava śubha nāme jāge
Tava śubha āśiṣa māge
Gāhe tava jaya gāthā
Jana gaṇa mangala dāyaka jaya he
Bhārata bhāgya vidhāta
Jaya he jaya he jaya he
Jaya jaya jaya jaya he!

Jana Gana Mana - Indian National Anthem